Sometimes we get stuck in webs, other times we shine through

I spent my last night in Gustavus camped out in a moose hunting stand in a very large muskeg called the “Crane Flats.” It’s a place that the sandhill cranes stop at on their migration south from the feeding grounds in the Arctic Circle.

I spent the night there, photographing the moon, drinking beers, and thinking about the summer that I spent in Gustavus and on Chichagof Island looking for humpback whales. As the night grew old, and my beers decreased I sat up in that moose stand with a big grin that my family and friends could recognize a mile away because I knew that this last summer was one of a kind.

Despite the challenges of being a photographer and a sea kayak guide, I had made it through another season and was proud of all that I had seen, done, and was about to do. I slept well that night and awoke to the a yellow moon setting at my feet, an orange sun rising at me head, and a siege of cranes flying overhead.

When I awoke, I gathered all my belongings and began my walk out only to be stopped by spiders webs and early sunrise light. Here are a few photos of my last day in Gustavus,AK. I hope I can return soon.

Spiders webs, lit by early morning Alaskan sunlight in the “Crane Flats” of Gustavus,AK

Spiders webs, lit by early morning Alaskan sunlight in the “Crane Flats” of Gustavus,AK

 

Spiders webs, lit by early morning Alaskan sunlight in the “Crane Flats” of Gustavus,AK

Leave a Reply

